#13 – The pain can also be self-induced . . .

Many times when talking about addiction, there is reference to the personal pain that a person might be feeling, that will cause them to turn to nuts.  I can acknowledge that is true, and I’ve found solace in nuts many times before after suffering actual or perceived pain.

My thought for this morning is to be thankful that I am free from the pain of active addition, and that is a pain that I am responsible for.  It is my CHOICE to use nuts (or not), and when I do make that choice there is a calculated degree of pain that comes along with it.  Even as the nuts numb my mind to the pain I am causing myself, it’s there none-the-less, just waiting to emerge after the nuts run out as they always do.

So today I will celebrate the freedom from that pain that is self-induced, and today choose to be nut-free.  On that note, here’s something crazy and squirrel related!

Rock on squirrels!

Rock on, squirrels!

P. Squirrel out!

6 thoughts on “#13 – The pain can also be self-induced . . .

  1. psquirrel says:

    Noticed that this animated GIF seems to go well with “More Bounce to the Ounce” by Zapp & Roger . . . try it with other music and see what you think! =)

  2. If it were slowed down a bit, it would be perfect for John Fogerty’s “Rock and Roll Squirrels”!

  3. I love this post! You really have a lot of wisdom and a great story to tell others! Thank you so much for being brave enough to tell it. Your words help me to be even stronger in my own recovery.

    • psquirrel says:

      Thank you for saying so, although sometimes I feel distinctly UNWISE. But punishing myself for my mistakes won’t make them go away – learning from them will help me to not make them in the future. Like I am reminded by my friends here, you fall down, you get back up again. =) As for your recovery, if I’ve had any positive influence, well, that makes me feel good. Especially at a point in my life when I want to focus on helping others and less on trying to always help myself. I’m glad I found your blog, and I’ll be checking in with ya often. =) P. Squirrel.

      • I’ll definitely be checking with you often as well P. Squirrel, your blog is very insightful and great to read. You are doing a very wonderful thing. I have found that people like us who know firsthand how ugly the world can be and are on our journey to a healthy, clean and happy life have very important things to share with the world. If we don’t give away what we have learned in our healing, we are not doing what we should be. I strongly feel us survivors and recovering addicts have a strong duty to reach out to others. If it weren’t for people like that, I would have died before I made it to 20.

Leave a Reply

