Just For Today – Oops!

“Insanity is repeating the same mistakes and expecting different results.” – Basic Text, p. 23

Mistakes! We all know how it feels to make them. Many of us feel that our entire lives have been a mistake. We often regard our mistakes with shame or guilt-at the very least, with frustration and impatience. We tend to see mistakes as evidence that we are still sick, crazy, stupid, or too damaged to recover.

In truth, mistakes are a very vital and important part of being human. For particularly stubborn people (such as addicts), mistakes are often our best teachers. There is no shame in making mistakes. In fact, making new mistakes often shows our willingness to take risks and grow.

It’s helpful, though, if we learn from our mistakes; repeating the same ones may be a sign that we’re stuck. And expecting different results from the same old mistakes-well, that’s what we call “insanity.” It just doesn’t work.

Just for Today: Mistakes aren’t tragedies. But please, Higher Power, help me learn from them!

Copyright (c) 2013, NA World Services, Inc. All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “Just For Today – Oops!

  1. Ah mistakes. I did a whole blog page on the subject. My son actually asked me if I ever made mistakes! Are you serious I thought! Yes I replied, at least twice a day! Sometimes the same ones! LOL.
    http://gentlestitches.com/2013/02/19/for-there-is-nothing-either-good-or-bad-but-thinking-makes-it-so-hamlet-act-2-scene-2-239-251/

  2. psquirrel says:

    I really appreciate your insight on this one – I think this goes along with loving and trying to help myself; I shouldn’t come down so hard on myself for making mistakes so much that I hate myself. I just need to learn from them. Loved your post about the mistaken toys going to be chew toys for the dogs . . . now they won’t be tempted to chew on me! …and Glovely squirrel is far too nicely crafted to ever be a puppy chew toy!

Leave a Reply

