Surround yourself with friends . . .

One key concept that is really important in recovery is to get rid of or separate yourself from all the influences and people in your life who could drag you down, or back into active addiction again, and instead find new, healthy friends and surround yourself with them.

I have been trying to do this as much as possible, and just would like to thank all the people here on WordPress who I consider to be my closest (and indeed some of my only true) friends.  So thank you. =)

Additionally I want to thank my squirrely family for always loving me and being there for me.

I will continue to try and surround myself with only positive, right-minded and healthy people.

-P. Squirrel

Cluster of Ground Squirrels

A happy family! (picture credit Hank Christensen)

5 thoughts on “Surround yourself with friends . . .

  1. excellent advice. Some people, even family members can be toxic and must be avoided. There are plenty of positive, healthy people to surround oneself with. Lovely squirrel pic. 🙂

  2. psquirrel says:

    I am one of the lucky ones where most of my family is wonderful and supportive – I don’t really come into contact with anyone who isn’t. It helps that they all live on the other side of the country – you could say I am a Western grey squirrel and they are all Eastern grey squirrels. LOL

  3. This Central grey squirrel is happy to be considered a friend, though it isn’t often I’m considered to be a good influence! 😉

    • psquirrel says:

      I have NEVER seen you as anything but kind, encouraging, and wonderful influence on me during my recovery. You make me laugh all the time, too! =) Thanx!

Leave a Reply

