Squirrel in Transition

Fatty squirrel

Must have been something I ate!

Today is one of the happiest, most unique days I have had in a long time!  As I sit here, I have only one day remaining at my current place of employment.  As of tomorrow, I will be resigning and moving on to bigger and better things.

When I first found out I was going to quit, I thought it was going to be an epic, file cabinet tipping moment where I storm out in a triumphant rage.  What has actually happened has been infinitely better.  I wrote a short, simple resignation letter and gave my two weeks notice, and for the past two weeks everyone has been so much nicer to me!  That’s something I never expected.  I guess when you’re all rats (or squirrels) on a sinking ship, you tend to turn on each other.  But now that I am leaving, everyone is treating me really well and I feel appreciated (for once!)

I’m thrilled to be starting my new job just one day after I quit my old one.  I’m not used to such smooth transitions – usually I’ll work for a couple years, quit or get fired, and have months of unemployment before I can find something else.  This is only the second time I’ve resigned with another job all lined up.  It feels good, like I’m starting to gain some stability in my life.

I just wanted to share with everyone how happy I am about this transition!  I guess I’m about as happy as that phatty squirrel! =)

P. Squirrel out!

4 thoughts on “Squirrel in Transition

  1. Hooray!!! Cheering you on from aussieland.
    Good wishes and luck with your new job!

  2. Best of luck on the new job, P! Now I can’t get the vision of squirrels on a sinking ship out of my mind!

  3. psquirrel says:

    Thanks to you both! I probably wouldn’t be where I am today without the love and support of my WordPress family! =)

  4. […] creation of mine to leave Australian soil was “glovely squirrel” who went to live with Pensive Squirrel and I hear they are getting on fine.  If you would like to make a glove squirrel the pattern is […]

Leave a Reply

